A first trip in India is always something special. Indeed, this country is so unique that the first trip to the Indian subcontinent will forever mark your memory. Today, we have a list of things which are must to do, we think. It’s not a list of  monuments to visit but only ideas to try to feel the Indian spirit and culture.

1-Travelling by train: mandatory during your first trip in India

We know that for a short trip (less than 3 weeks), transportation by train can be difficult. Indeed, trains are long and very often not on time. Despite this, travelling by train and especially travelling overnight is a unique experience. That’s why, we organise a train trip during our tours in Maharashtra.

The train is not only a transportation system, it is a place of life, exchange and meeting. It is also the place where you learn to enjoy the moment. When you talk with people on the train, you only have the time to get to know them, share, exchange. When you reach your destination, you say goodbye and it’s over.

Another thing that is extraordinary in the train is the quantity of street vendors. One will offer you chai (black tea spices with milk), samosas, candies and also jewellery, toys for children etc … It is a shopping centre at your seat.

If you can spend a night on the train, do it. From 8 pm, a ballet is put in place, the seats are converted to bed, the passengers prepare to go to sleep, there are two more benches on the top also. A show to see before sleeping. An amazing memory for your first trip in India.

2-Drink chai: a rediscovery in each region

The chai is the national drink in India. Whether you are invited to a house, whether you are in a shop, you will always be offered a cup of this spicy black tea with milk. I remember one of our guests who made friends with the neighbourhood kids. Everyone invited her to visit their house. When she came back, she told us that she had drunk 5 or 6 chai and had to refuse many more. The chai is a social thing in India.

You will be surprised during your first trip in India, because when you change the region the chai, like the thali, changes its taste. Each region has its own preparation. It will have more cardamom in one area, more ginger in another, more milk in a third. That’s why drinking chai in every region is an experience to live.

Let us know in comment, your opinion on each chai and which region is the best.

3- Visit temples: mandatory for the first trip in India

India is a spiritual country. It is the birth place of 4 religions( Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism) and almost all are present in the country these days.

Visiting temples is an important part of a trip in India. Each religion has its own ceremonial and access conditions. In a Sikh temple for example, men have to cover their heads with turban.

Some temples are forbidden to non-practitioners.

If you decide to visit temples, there are some rules to follow.

Dress required: it is rare that you are forbidden entry to a temple because of your outfit. On the other hand, if you wear a tank top and shorts (for men or for women), you risk getting the reproaching looks of the people. In addition, some parts of the temple may be prohibited to you including that where the statue of the god resides.

Respect the places: do not forget that you are in a spiritual place. Be discreet and respect the written or unspoken rules. If you do not know, it’s the best to ask.

Watch out for photos: visitors are often reminded that taking photos of people without their consent is prohibited and punishable by law. In general, validated the fact of taking photos by a manager.

Temple a visiter durant le premier voyage en Inde, visit temple for your first trip in India

Temple a visiter durant le premier voyage en Inde, visit temple for your first trip in India

4- Try a home stay

Sleeping at the home of an Indian family, many dreams but the reality is sometimes different. Before wanting to sleep at home of someone´s else, it’s good to know what you want from this experience to bring you there.

When we created this accommodation, we wanted to create an interaction between the host family and the traveller. That’s why we offer the evening meal served in the living room at the same time as the family.

If you want to be independent for the evening meal, at home it will be complicated compared to our concept.

This is why it is best to determine the limits or your needs to fully enjoy the experience.

5-Negotiate prices

For that, we do not worry too much for you. From the moment you go to buy something you will be forced to negotiate.

Here are some simple rules to negotiate well in India:

Trade: In India, as in other countries, there is a difference in market practices. A good or a product has no fixed price but a fluctuating price compared to the buyer. This is why an object can be announced at several prices.

An Indian price: it’s the rate that a native will be able to buy a product or a service. You can come closer to this rate but don’t expect to reach it. But it can serve as a basis for negotiations.

The obligation to buy: there is never any obligation to buy even if you have negotiated the price for one hour. If you can not agree, leave without remorse.

Remain courteous: it’s a golden rule. If you want a good price, you have to negotiate with a smile. Make jokes, laugh are the best weapons to have a good price.

The price: before starting to negotiate, evaluate the object and especially fix your maximum purchase price. If you do not arrive at the desired price, you have two possibilities. Either you do not buy the object either if you really like it you take it without regret.

6- The Indian wedding: an unforgettable moment

It is not easy to be invited to an Indian wedding. It’s more of luck and chance. Indian marriages are quite different from western marriages. First, because it is the demonstration of family wealth so you must invite as many people as possible. The biggest weddings have reached an impressive number of guests.

If you are invited to an Indian wedding, it is fashionable to come well dressed. If possible in a traditional way. That is kurta for men and sari for women. Do not be surprised if you are invited to enjoy the buffet several times. Food is one of the criteria for a successful wedding. All guests must eat to their fullest even more.

7- Live shows: one of the greatest wealth of India

Everyone knows about Bollywood movies and their dance. This tradition is very old and each region has its style and its scenic art.

Indian dancer

First trip in India, the 10 things to do

Originally, dances were a religious act. In the tradition, it is said that it was Shiva and his wife Parvati who invented the dances of India.

At present, it has become a living spectacle in its own right.

More than a long speech, we prefer to show you some examples:

 

8-Participate in a yoga class in a public park

It is easier to find outdoor yoga classes in small towns than in big cities.

If you want to attend one of these courses, you will have to get up early. Indeed, these courses are practised at 5-6 o’clock in the morning. They are usually free and open to everyone. Provide ample and comfortable clothes to be able to do all the positions. A yoga mat or a simple towel for floor/comfort for your back.  Look at other participants to see what movements you need to make. Do not force it if it’s your first yoga class.

Yoga à l'Himayat bagh, Aurangabad

9-Learn to wear a sari: feel like a Indian during your first trip in India

It’s something that only women can do. Wearing a sari may seem simple because every day, we can see women doing a thousand activities in sari. But undeceive yourself, wearing a sari is an art and it takes an initiation to be able to wear it properly and comfortably. The best thing is to know an Indian who can teach you. If you go through Aurangabad, we organise sari workshops for free.

Course de sari à Aurangabad

10-Go to the cinema to watch a Bollywood movie:

Attention: for the better experience, you must go to small neighbourhood cinemas. Indeed, in these cinemas, the show is as much in the room as on the screen. The Indians over-react to the plot, scream when a big star appears, boo the villain.

Before each filming, the national anthem is played. It is imperative to get up and not move. We have already seen confusion between foreigners and Indians because the first had not respected the hymn.

Finally, if you’re a film buff, you have to watch Marathi movies. Those are usually auteur films with a rather complex story that speaks about the problems of India and with a very fair acting. Very often, these films are subtitled in English. Very far from Bollywood productions.

If you want to experience some of the things we mentioned, we would be happy to help to organise your first trip in India. Do not hesitate to contact us for organise your first trip in India.

Enjoy your first trip in India, and tell us in comment what is your experience so far.

 

Akvin tourisme

Author Akvin tourisme

More posts by Akvin tourisme

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:

Un premier voyage en Inde est toujours quelque chose de spécial. En effet, ce pays est tellement unique que le premier voyage dans le sous continent indien sera à jamais marquer dans votre mémoire. Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui une liste de choses que nous pensons importante à faire. Pas de visite de monuments mais juste des idées pour essayer de toucher du doigt l’esprit et la culture indienne.

1-Voyager en train: obligatoire lors de son premier voyage en Inde

Nous savons que pour un voyage court ( moins de 3 semaines), le transport en train peut s’avérer difficile. En effet, les trains sont longs et très souvent, voir tout le temps en retard. Malgré cela, voyager en train et surtout y passer une nuit c’est une expérience unique. Le train n’est pas seulement un moyen de transport, c’est un lieu de vie, d’échange et de rencontre. C’est aussi l’endroit où on apprend à profiter du moment présent. Quand vous discutez avec des personnes dans le train, vous n’avez que le temps du trajet pour les connaitre, partager , échanger. Quand la destination arrive, on se dit au revoir et c’est fini.

Autre chose qui est extraordinaire dans le train c’est la quantité de marchands ambulants. L’un vous proposera du chai (thé noir aux épices avec du lait), un autre des samosas, encore un autre des friandises et aussi des bijoux, des jouets pour les enfants etc… C’est un centre commercial qui s’offre à vous.

Si vous pouvez passer une nuit dans le train, faites le. A partir de 20 h, un ballet se met en place, les sièges se mettent en lit, les passagers se préparent à aller dormir, montent sur la deuxième voir la troisième banquette. Un spectacle a voir avant de dormir.

 

2-Boire du chai: une redécouverte dans chaque région

Le chai est la boisson nationale en Inde. Que vous soyez inviter dans une maison, que vous soyez dans un magasin, on vous proposera toujours une tasse de ce thé noir épicé avec du lait. Je me souviens d’une de nos invités qui s’était faite amis avec les enfants du quartier. Chacun l’a invité à visiter sa maison. Quand elle est revenue, elle nous a dit avoir bu 5 ou 6 chai et a dut refuser les autres. Le chai c’est une tradition en Inde.

Vous serez surpris lors de votre premier voyage en Inde, car quand vous changez de région le chai, comme le thali, change de gout. Il faut savoir que chai est le mot commun pour désigner du thé. Chaque région a sa propre préparation. Il aura plus de cardamone dans une région, plus de gingembre dans une autre, plus de lait dans une troisième. C’est pour cela que boire du chai dans chaque région que vous traverserez est une expérience à vivre.

Laissez nous en commentaire votre avis sur chaque chai et quelle région fait le meilleur.

3- Visiter les temples

L’inde est un pays spirituel. C’est le berceau de 4 religions et quasiment toutes sont présentes dans le pays.

Visiter les temples est un part importante d’un voyage en Inde. Chaque religion a son propre cérémonial et ses propres conditions d’accès. Dans un temple shik par exemple, les hommes doivent se couvrirent la tête avec un turban. Certains temples sont interdits aux non pratiquants.

Si vous décidez d’aller visiter des temples, il y a quelques règles à suivre.

Tenue correct exigée: il est rare que l’on vous interdise l’entrée d’un temple à cause de votre tenue . Par contre, si vous portez un débardeur et un short ( pour les hommes ou pour les femmes), vous risquez de vous attirer les regards réprobateurs des personnes présentent. De plus, certaines parties du temple peuvent vous être interdite notamment celle où réside la statue du dieu du temple.

Respecter les lieux: n’oubliez pas que vous êtes dans un lieu de prière. Soyez discret et respecter les règles écrites ou tacites. Si vous ne savez pas demander c’est le mieux.

Attention aux photos:  il est souvent rappeler aux visiteurs que prendre quelqu’un en photo sans son consentement est interdit et punit par la loi. De manière générale, faite valider le fait de prendre des photos par un responsable de lieux.

Temple sikh de Gwalior

Temple sikh de Gwalior

4- Dormir chez l’habitant

Dormir chez l’habitant, beaucoup en rêve mais la réalité est des fois décevantes. Avant de vouloir aller dormir chez l’habitant, il est bon de savoir ce que vous voulez que cette expérience vous apporte.

Pour que ce soit plus clair nous allons prendre l’exemple que nous offrons au personne qui vienne à Aurangabad.

Lorsque nous avons créé cet hébergement, nous avons voulu créer une interaction entre la famille d’accueil et le voyageur. C’es pour cela que nous offrons le repas du soir servit dans le salon en même temps que la famille.

Si vous voulez être indépendant pour le repas du soir, chez nous ce sera compliqué par rapport à notre concept.

C’est pour cela qu’il est préférable de déterminer les limites ou vos besoins pour profiter pleinement de l’expérience.

 

5-Négocier les prix

Pour cela, on ne s’inquiète pas trop pour vous. Du moment où vous allez acheter quelque chose vous serez forcé de négocier.

Voila quelques règles simples pour bien négocier en Inde:

  • Le commerce: en Inde comme d’en d’autres pays, il y a une différence de pratiques marchande. Un bien ou un produit n’a pas de prix fixe mais un prix fluctuant par rapport à l’acheteur. C’est pour cela qu’un objet pourra être annoncé à plusieurs prix.
  • Le tarif indien: c’est le tarif qu’un natif va pouvoir acheter un produit ou un service. Ce tarif la, vous ne l’attendrez jamais. Mais il peut vous servir de base pour les négociations.
  • L’obligation d’achat: il n’y a jamais d’obligation d’achat même si vous avez négocié le prix pendant une heure. Si vous n’arrivez pas à un accord, laissez tomber sans remord.
  • Rester courtois: c’est une règle d’or. Si vous voulez un bon prix, il faut négocier avec le sourire. Faire des blagues, rire sont les meilleurs armes pour avoir un bon prix.
  • Le prix: avant de commencer à négocier, évaluer l’objet et surtout fixer vous un prix maximum d’achat. Si vous n’arrivez pas au prix désiré, vous avez deux possibilités. Soit vous n’achetez pas l’objet soit si il vous plait vraiment vous le prenez sans regret.

6- Le mariage indien: un moment inoubliable

Il n’est pas évident de se faire inviter à un mariage indien. C’est plutôt de l’ordre de la chance et du hasard. Les mariages indiens sont assez différents des mariages occidentaux. D’abord car c’est la démonstration de la richesse familiale donc vous devez inviter le plus de monde possible. Les mariages les plus grands ont atteint un nombre d’invités impressionnant.

Si vous êtes invité à un mariage indien, il est de bon ton de venir bien habillé. Si possible de manière traditionnelle. C’est à dire kurta pour les hommes et sari pour les femmes. Ne soyez pas surpris que l’on vous invite à profitez du buffet plusieurs fois car la nourriture est un des critères de réussite d’un mariage. Tous les invités doivent manger à leur faim voir plus.

 

7- Les spectacles vivants: une des plus grandes richesse de l’Inde

Tout le monde connait les films de Bollywood et leur danse. Cette tradition est très ancienne et chaque région a son style et son art scénique.

Pieds de danseuse indienne

Pieds de danseuse indienne

A l’origine, les danses étaient un acte religieux. Dans la tradition, il est dit que c’est Shiva et son épouse Parvati qui inventèrent les danses de l’Inde.

A l’heure actuelle, c’est devenu un spectacle vivant à part entière.

Plus qu’un long discours, nous préfèrons vous montrer quelques exemples:

 

 

8-Participer à un cours de yoga dans un parc publique

Il est plus facile de trouver des cours de yoga en pleine air dans les petites villes que dans les grandes. Si vous voulez assister à un de ces cours, il va falloir vous lever tôt. En effet, ces cours se pratiquent à 5 h du matin. Ils sont généralement gratuits et ouvert à tous. Prévoyez des vêtements amples et confortables pour pouvoir faire toutes les positions. Un tapis de yoga ou une simple serviette pour les exercice au sol. Les cours sont en anglais. Regardez les autres participants pour voir les mouvements que vous devez effectuer. Ne forcez par si c’est votre premier cours de yoga.

Yoga à l'Himayat bagh, Aurangabad

Yoga à l’Himayat bagh, Aurangabad

 

9-Apprendre à porter un sari

C’est une chose que seules les femmes peuvent faire. Porter un sari peut paraître simple car chaque jour, on peut voir des femmes faire mille activités en sari. Mais détromper vous, porter un sari est un art et il faut une initiation pour pouvoir le porter correctement et confortablement. Le mieux c’est de connaitre une indienne qui pourra vous apprendre. Si vous passez par Aurangabad, nous organisons des ateliers sari

Course de sari à Aurangabad

Course de sari à Aurangabad

 

10-Aller au cinéma pour regarder un Bollywood

Attention pour que cette expérience soit intéressante, il est préférable d’aller dans des petits cinémas de quartier. En effet, dans ces cinémas-là, le spectacle est autant dans la salle que sur l’écran. Les indiens sur-réagissent à l’intrigue, crient quand une grand star apparaît, huent le méchant.

Avant chaque séance de cinéma, l’hymne national est joué. Il est impératif de se lever et de ne pas bouger. On a déjà vu à des embrouilles entre étrangers et indiens car les premiers n’avaient pas respecté l’hymne.

Pour finir, si vous êtes cinéphile, il faut que vous voyez des films marathi. Ceux sont en général des film d’auteur avec une histoire assez complexe qui parle des problèmes de l’Inde et avec un jeu d’acteur très juste. Très souvent, ces films sont sous titrés en anglais.  Très loin des super productions bollywoodiennes.

Si vous voulez expérimenter certaines des choses que nous avons mis sur la liste, nous serions ravi de vous aider à les organiser. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter ici[:]

Akvin tourisme

Author Akvin tourisme

More posts by Akvin tourisme

Join the discussion One Comment

Leave a Reply

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :